Back to Baseline

After almost two months of health issues, concerns, monumental levels of anxiety, and sitting in bed, I’m finally ready to get back up and move! Fight! Be the me I want to be!

Unfortunately, those seven weeks with all their bloodwork and doctor visits and lounging around for sanity’s sake left me all weak and limp. I’ve been going to physical therapy through it, and my PT tells me that I’ve maintained my muscle and flexibility in the hip/thigh area, so there’s that. (Yay for small wins!) But I have practically NO stamina. Worse, there have been a few times where exercise made me feel like I was going to pass out. I don’t know if it was actually the exercise, or if it was an unexpected and unnoticed panic attack, or if it had to do with my stomach and antibiotics. Which pretty much means I’m afraid to leave the house. But I make myself do it anyway!

Still, I obviously need to work back up to my baseline. Stamina, strength, balance. To that end, I’m going to start my 2-weekers again. Basically, I separate my time into two-week-long challenges that are small, simple, and straight-forward.

For the rest of April, my 2-week challenge is this:

  1. Walk a little every day with the spouse, just in case the pass-out feeling returns.
  2. Keep up my PT homework.
  3. Meditate each night.

The first two weeks in May will likely look like this:

  1. Walk at the gym for 30 minutes 3-4 times each week.
  2. Keep up PT and add a short Blogilates video 3-4 days each week.
  3. Meditate each night.

I’ll probably up my time to 45 minutes and add the Pop Pilates beginner calendar after that, but it depends on how I’m feeling.

For now, my motto is going to be: Gentle return, calm spirit.

Leave a Reply

